Adopt a Canal: next session Sat 6th Jan 1pm

We will meet once a month, and in these first few months we will focus on weeding and re-painting lock beams in specific areas, to help make an immediate visual impact. The next session will be on Saturday 6th January 1pm. The Canal & River Trust will supply the necessary equipment (paint, brushes, gardening gloves, weeding tools, etc). If you’re on our Adopt a Canal mailing list, you should have received an email. However, we’re alway looking for new helpers and you’re welcome to join us. But please email Thomas at twildish [at] gmail [dot] com so we know to expect you. You don’t need to make a long term commitment, you’re welcome to attend for just one session! Date: Saturday 6th January 1pm. Meeting place: bridge accessed from Fleet Street, by Islington Gates. Dates for the forthcoming year will be as follows (these may change slightly as the year progresses, but we will be meeting each month): Sun 11th Feb | Sat 10th Mar | Sun 8th Apr | Sat 5th May | Sun 3rd Jun | Sat 7th Jul | Sun 5th Aug | Sat 1 Sept | Sun 7 Oct. Sessions on Saturdays will be 1 – 5pm and those on Sunday will be 11am – 3pm. Over the year, activities we will be doing will fall into three main categories: – Maintenance: e.g, painting locks & metal work / managing vegetation / removing graffiti – Canal improvements: e.g. installing planters (on the towpath) / planting other vegetation / commissioning public art for the canal (although this would be in the long term and not in the first year) – Community events: e.g. doing events as part of Heritage Week

We will keep you updated on our progress over the year, and we hope you’ll be able to join us!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.