Adopt a Canal: next session Sun 2nd Dec 11am

The JQNF is adopting the Farmers Bridge flight of locks, most of which run through the JQ.

The next session is Sun 2 Dec from 11am. Meeting Place: entrance to the canal from Water Street (just off Ludgate Hill).

Please email Thomas at twildish [at] gmail [dot] com so we know to expect you.

You don’t need to make a long term commitment, you’re welcome to attend for just one session! The Canal & River Trust supply the necessary equipment (paint, brushes, gardening gloves, weeding tools, etc). We just turn up in old clothes. Sessions usually last three hours.

Sessions for 2019 are: Sat 5 Jan (1pm) / Sun 3 Feb (11am) / Sat 2 Mar (1pm) / Sun 7 Apr (11am) / Sat 11 May (1pm) / Sun 9 Jun (11am) / Sat 6 Jul (1pm) / Sun 4 Aug (11am) / Sat 7 Sep (1pm) / Sun 6 Oct (11am) / Sat 2 Nov (1pm) / Sun 1 Dec (11am)

Activities include:
– Maintenance: painting locks & metal work / managing vegetation / removing graffiti
– Canal improvements: installing planters (on the towpath) / planting other vegetation / commissioning public art for the canal (although this will be in the long term and not in the first year)

This session we will be Planting Apple Trees and Weeding

We will keep you updated on our progress over the year, and we hope you’ll be able to join us!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*